El Paso, TX/Juarez

July 4th, 2015 was the first time that I’d ever been to El Paso Texas, and Ciudad Juarez.  My dad and I took my mom and younger sister there so she could go visit my grandma and the rest of her family for the second time in 17 years, needless to say she was very excited.  I think that I was the most excited one though since I hadn’t traveled anywhere near Mexico for about 10 years so I didn’t remember much of what it was like over there.  Even though I didn’t get a chance to go the small village where my parents are from I knew I was going to get a small dose of what it’s like to live in Mexico even if it was only for a few hours, and I was right.  I absolutely loved being there even if my parents didn’t want to go and wander around the city as much as I wanted to. I couldn’t go out and explore on my own due to the fact that my sister was with me while my mom was talking to her cousins in El Paso the whole time and I had not idea how where I was or how to get back to their house in less than 2 hours so I mostly walked around the neighborhood.


As you can probably tell from these pictures I really love seeing a whole city lit up.  I think I have this romantic idea of what a city should look like when everything is dark and all the lights come on I fall in love with a city all over again.  I don’t have a chance to see Phoenix lit up like that due to the fact that all our roads are pretty much flat and also that I live in a house so I can’t see past my street when walking around.


When I was walking around with my sister in El Paso right before the sunset we saw this really cool lamp post at a house.  It has 5 different colored lamp shades, all pastel colors, so when you walked by and the lights were on it was absolutely gorgeous!

This is on our way over to Juarez.


I love eating paletas even here in the U.S but there is something so delicious about the ones in Mexico.  I don’t know what it is about them but even looking at this picture I can taste the creamy, icy, crunchy paletas.  My favorite is the one below, it is a pistachio flavored ice pop.

This was the first time I saw motorcycles being used for delivery.  I’m used to cars being driven for pizza deliveries so of course I had to get this picture.

I honestly think that the thing I miss the most about being in my parents home villages is this type of atmosphere below.  Every Sunday after church we would go to the plaza just to talk and gossip with all the people from the village and my brothers and I always got some sort of treat since my parents were in the U.S and they left my brothers and I with my grandma for about a year.  Seeing all the people gather around to listen to the music and to just enjoy being outside really made me wish I could go with my mom and sister to Durango.

The main reason I took this photo is because I remember going to school and using some of these items when I was growing up.  One of the things that amazed me the most was the fact that they still had the papeleria’s available.  A papeleria is basically a store where they sell mostly school supplies and a few random knick-knacks here and there.  After being in the U.S for so long I assumed they would be obsolete and that school supplies would be sold at the big chain store like they are here, but seeing the papeleria’s still open really brought back quite a few memories  back to me.

Cajeta is one of my favorite Mexican snacks ever! I feel like all snacks are my favorite snacks but the sticky gooey cajeta definitely takes the cake.

It was a pretty long drive back, but so worth it even if I only got to be in Juarez for a couple of hours.


Leave a Reply

