2015

My original plan was to write a weekly section on here called Wonderful Wednesday where I would find something that made me happy or smile on Wednesday but that hasn’t gone as planned.   I also wanted to start a blog to get myself into reading and writing and growing as a person, alas I’ve not been able to follow through on any of those goals thus far.  The main reason I started this blog was to be able to get a feel for maybe being able to do some travel blogging; as I’ve learned no travel=no travel blogging. I also realized that keeping up with a blog is a lot of work and I generally don’t have the drive to continue on with something unless I’m getting paid.  So this 2016 my resolution is to once again go ahead and do something that is outside my comfort zone and to experience life to the fullest.  I’m going to try my best to finally go through with my resolution this year so hopefully this will be an interesting ride.  I will try to keep this blog updated as much as possible with new experiences even if it’s not related to travel.  I can always use this as a way to not think too much.

So as a goodbye to 2015 I want to make a small list of all the accomplishments and the things that made me grateful this past year.

  • My parents finally got their residency after 18 years of having their paperwork in the system!! This is definitely that thing I’m most thankful for this year.  Not only because it made my mom happy but also because now I know that if I ever want to move out they’ll be ok. They won’t need me to be around 24/7 and it gives me great peace of mind that my parents can finally drive around town and not be worried about cops or anything of the sort.  Also the fact that my mom was able to see my grandma for the first time in 18 years is also worth celebrating. I don’t know how she spent so many years without seeing her but I’m glad she was finally able to do it.
  • I got my very first car! Although it’s not anything fancy and I’m making payments that fact that I was able to get it makes me happy. I no longer have to make plans with my friend based on her driving range but I can now go anywhere she is comfortable going to in my own car and experience a lot more things in the process.
  • That being said I’m also very happy to say that I’ve helped my dad drive out of state for the first time.  Granted we’ve only gone out of the state a few times but still.  I helped him drive to Texas and back home when my mom went to Mexico for the second time this year.  Being able to drive even if only for a little while was an amazing feeling.  Although I would have preferred to take a nap it was still very fun to see a bit of the land on the way there and back.
  • Finally, I’m very happy that I was able to travel even if only for the day.  I went to Texas once this year, twice to Juarez, Mexico, and finally we drove down to Mexico for one day to return the cars pass.  We were only able to eat dinner and go to a small corner store before we were on our way but it was still super refreshing to see how everything completely changes just by crossing one border.

Let’s make this upcoming year one filled with a lot of happiness and adventures!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

